Alicia Keys: Marie Claire UK Photoshoot

Alicia Keys Marie Claire01Hot mama Alicia Keys graces the cover of Marie Claire UK’s July 2013 issue. The singer dishes on her new album Girl on Fire, her world tour, motherhood and becoming a director and producer. She also reveals how her husband Swizz Beatz has helped her become more chill in the last few years.

On penning a song for her husband on her latest album: “That’s When I Knew is definitely an ode to my husband… Honestly I didn’t really like him that much. I thought he was too ostentatious.”

On they’ve learned from each other: “I think we’ve taught each other a lot. He’s taught me to live more fully and I think I’ve taught him to live more deeply.”

On not liking Swizz when they first met: “Swizz will have the fastest car, the biggest jewellery, the loudest jacket; everything with him is really over the top. I used to see him and think, “He is so annoying”.”

On learning to stand up for herself: “You have to speak up. To say, ‘I don’t like that, it’s not cool, don’t do that to me’, but it’s not easy, especially with people you love. I think getting older has made me evolve in a lot of ways and made me more relaxed about saying how I feel, no matter what.”

On finding balance between work and home: “I realise you have to have a balance – you can live life and have more experiences as well as working.”

On getting into directing: “I fell in love with directing. Because first of all I didn’t have to get up early for make-up and, second, I’m a very diplomatic individual.”

Photo credit: Marie Claire U

Leave a Reply

