Diya, Alamieyeseigha, Shehu Yar’Adua, others get state pardon


A former governor of Bayelsa State, Chief D. S. P. Alamieyeseigha, was among those granted state pardon, as the Council of State met at the State House, Abuja, on Tuesday.

Others were former Chief of General Staff, General Oladipo Diya;  former Chief of Staff, Supreme Military Council, Major-General Shehu Musa Yar’Adua; Major Bello Magaji; Mohammed Lima Biu; Shettima Bulama; Major-General Abdulkareem Adisa and Major Segun Fadipe.

It was gathered that the council decided to pardon all those involved in the alleged coup of 1995, as well as post-humous reliefs to Yar’Adua and Adisa, who were convicted by the Sani Abacha-led regime.

On why Alamieyeseigha was pardoned, a source said the former governor had been punished for his offence as governor, but had, in the last eight years, been in the search for peace in the Niger Delta and other areas of the country.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s